Naturalistas Unite!

Yes I know, Naturalista isn’t a word. I just had to get that out the way before you all crucify me. It’s a term commonly used among the natural hair sisterhood. (Learnt of this word when I visited the all-natural hair products store- Sageroots)

For those of you who I interact with regularly, my recent natural hair obsession won’t be new. For a few of you, it’s so bad that I’m beginning to be annoying.

A few months ago, I decided to grow my hair completely natural. I made that decision with the assumption that it’s easy and hassle-free. Thought that would be the best thing for a young lady who loves to just get up, do nothing to her hair and just leave. Oh how wrong was I.

I was under the impression that all I had to do was wash my hair, put some grease on it and I’m good to go. It didn’t take me long to realise that natural hair is probably a lot harder to handle than chemically processed hair.

When I relaxer in my hair, I washed it once a week, used a blow dryer to dry it, and after then used some oil, used a band to hold it together and I was good to go.

But my dears, I do a lot more now with this natural hair. I remember my Bee Wax experience (For those who didn’t/ haven’t read it, check the archives ). That was one rude awakening I got!

For the past eight months, I’ve been going from one hair product to another, one Youtube video to another. There’s a whole world of information about natural hair on the Internet. It’s too much information that may even end up confusing the lye out of any chemically treated hair.

However, in the past month, I think I’ve done a good job at not watching much natural hair videos. I’ve been a lot more mentally sane since I made that decision.

Thanks to a new product I got from the ladies at Sageroots, I can be calm and grow my hair. From the knowledge I gathered from Youtube videos, I learnt to mix my own organic moisturizers. I learnt which natural oils are good or bad for my hair. I learnt to walk with a spray bottle to spray some of my tea tree-extra virgin olive-castor-argan oil on my hair  every couple hours in the hot sun.

I’ll keep you guys posted on my natural hair journey. The goal is to grow a very huge afro and hopefully bring back the 70’s.

If I keep up with the tedious routines of natural hair, I can assure you all that, in about four months, you’ll begin to see the sister with the fro, the afro pick on the hair and all the other stuff that come along with natural hair…. That’s only if I don’t cut the hair.

5 thoughts on “Naturalistas Unite!

Leave a Reply

