The Abysmal War

Folks,
I had plans of blogging about a book I finished reading yesterday and then about my natural hair journey, but I have to do this. I have to vent about something that almost got me my first pass into a mental health asylum. Contact Lenses.

Yesterday, I got a lovely, of sort-of vintage, lovely looking shades. I got them because they looked lovely and I don’t really have a pair of functional shades to protect my already bling eyes from the sun.
Another reason I got them without hesitation was the fact that I don’t have to frequently switch to my normal glasses every two minutes, I can wear my contacts and I’m good to go.

So, this morning, I decided to go old school. I let my afro loose, wore my carrot/Aladdin slacks and thought the shades a perfect accessory.

That was where the battle began.
Since when I learnt of contact lenses, I hated them. Well hate is a strong word. I basically disliked the idea of poking my eyes just to put some strange object on them.

Somehow though, a few months ago, I gave in; I got my first pair of contact lenses. At first, it was difficult and after a few days, it was easy, then the challenge began; trying to get the left eye to submit.

Many times, I had to put down my contacts all because the left eye just won’t cooperate. But this morning, I had to wear my vintage shades and that meant I needed to get those contacts on. As usual, the right eye was as sweet as ever. I got the contact on in less than a minute.

Then the left eye began it’s nagging. Ladies and gentlemen, It took me close to an hour to get the contacts on my left eye.
I spent a lot of money on those contacts. Letting them just sit in the case was not going to happen today.
I had planned to be at the office at about 10 a.m. but, I put off every other plan until the left contact obeyed.

I stood in front of that bathroom mirror till the left eye gave up being a total pain.

As little and as insignificant as some people may think that intense battle is/was, I’m glad to see I set a goal for myself today, and I reached it.
back to work.. I got stories to finish if I must still have a job come Tuesday morning.

 

Smile, this has been yet another insignificant post 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “The Abysmal War

  1. lolol!! I tried it once (contacts). it took me an hour to get just one in and another hour and a half to get the other on… lets just say that was the last I wore contact. Purely for fashion as I wanted to try the colored eyes look.

Leave a Reply

