Beyond Blessed

In a few hours, it will be 2014.

2013 will go down memory lane as probably the year that moved faster than lightning. However fast it went, I’m more than grateful to God for the opportunity to see the last day of the year. If not for his mercies and grace, I sure as heck don’t know where I’ll be.

If and when I wake up in the morning, the sun probably will shine just the same way it did this morning, the crickets around my hill top apartment will chirp just the as loud and I sure will be waking up alone with my three teddy bears. The only thing that’ll be different will be the time and date on all my electronic device. We all take these little things for granted, don’t we?
I hope in 2014, I’ll appreciate the little things in life more.

I’m not a big fan of New Year Resolutions neither will you ever hear this nonsense phrase “New Year, New Me,” from me. One thing I do for sure is try renew my commitment to helping people even if it means just making them smile. This new year won’t be any different. 

I’m resolving to making myself smile first of all, then extending it to others. 2014 will be a great year if we all make the effort to make others smile. 

In 2013, one of my goals was to appreciate people each opportunity I had. I can’t say I did that completely, as i had some very bitter days. I’m having that as a goal again this year. I’m thankful to those who made me smile this year. A smile sure goes a long way.

One other goal was to visit Nigeria and be with family. I did that. I’m grateful for the opportunity to have done that. Several times before this trip, I set up times to visit and I ended up canceling the trip for very tiny reasons. I later realized that I canceled the trip subconsciously because I was afraid of traveling back home for the first time in years. I was worried about fitting in again and worried about how I would be received. After I returned, I knocked myself hard in the head for letting fear hold me back from being with the people I care about the most. Thanks 2013, I conquered that fear. I can’t wait to do it again. There’s so much love and joy being with family. I can’t afford to stay away from all that goodness for more than two years.

2013 didn’t go by without leaving a tiny scar on my fragile heart. I won’t go into details, but I’ll like to think a bit stronger. And I think I may have touched one or two hearts the wrong way. I’m sorry! This year, I’m going to hold on strong to Proverbs 4:23 “Above all else, guard your heart for it determines the course of your life.” 

Apart from cold here and there, I didn’t have any major reasons to be at the hospital. How blessed am I? I pray God extends that grace and favor in 2014. 

I have no New Year resolutions I’m willing to put out in public. I just want to make the little changes I need to make in order to be a better person.

This post is beginning to read cheesy to me…  I need to infuse some humor somewhere…. 

Okay, humor aside, I must share this story with you all… Real life story by the way.

So earlier in the year, I had a crush on this guy at the gym. Well, it wasn’t really a crush. He’s cute and I just liked to stare at him and occasionally flirt. That was all. I noticed he also liked me a little bit because, one day, he chased me after gym to try get my contact info and all that. And no, I didn’t give him my number and luckily at that time, I had deactivated my Facebook account.

I told him if he wanted to contact me, he could call my office or even read my articles and email me from the info on my byline….lol. (How mean of me right?) He didn’t do any of the above…. As time when on, my crush on him just went down the drain. He was a little too slow in approaching me. But honestly, somewhere at the back of my mind, I didn’t want it to go beyond a crush either (Ladies, we all know we want a guy to show some balls…[ not his real balls] but show some courage in approaching us. But the kick came when one afternoon, saw him driving through town and at the back of his car was, “Baby On Board.” That was the end of my crush on that fine looking young man. 

I told that story to say, my wish for 2014 is that I don’t have a crush on any guy who moves really slow and can’t gather the courage to face me… and I wish you all the same too….

Oh what a useless post…

Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, I pray somewhere along this post, you smiled.

Happy and productive 2014.

🙂 

2 thoughts on “Beyond Blessed

  1. Very nice post Vou. Your writing in some way or the other inspires me.
    Like you, I don’t make any resolutions. My goal in 2014 is to be a better person in all areas of my life by getting closer to God.

    I thank God for His many blessings and favors in 2013. I thank Him that I am alive and that I have good mental, physical and emotional health. His mercy is indeed great, I have some many testimonies.

    Have a blessed 2014, my prayer is that you will be inspired and that will continue to inspire others like you have done for me. Much love

    • Hey Nikki,
      Thanks for reading.
      I feel blessed knowing I can inspire you through my silly writing.
      I pray you become a better person as you wish for yourself…
      😉 thanks and have a great 2014

Leave a Reply

