Mind Your Business.

Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, I’ve not spoken about my natural hair journey in a long time. Partly because, I find it a part of every day life and there shouldn’t be so much ado about it. (Apparently, not everyone thinks the same, but oh well!)

However, as of today that will change. For the past three days, I’ve rocked an afro and I’ve loved every bit of it.

Truth be told, there are times I wake up and judge myself a little too hard about some part of my body- It’s either my stomach could be flatter, my arms could be slimmer or some little thing here and there I’m insecure about. One thing that I’m super confident about though, is my hair.

I could have all my hair shaved and still be confident about my head. 
Now, this isn’t something many people are used to. I have absolutely no problem or issues moving around town rocking my hair as it grows out my scalp. 

While I’ve received more positive than negative comments, I can’t help but think about the negative ones.

I remember a few months ago, I had my afro out and was walking to the office from an assignment when some random dude pulled over in his vehicle, rolled down his window and said/asked “why don’t you go do something with that hair?” People, if not for God and self control, I would have given him some choice words. Instead, I walked away with a smile.

I was at a press conference less than two hours ago. As I stood up to ask a question, I heard someone behind me pass a comment about my hair and people around that individual followed the comment with giggles. I paused for a few seconds in between my question and again, I was tempted to look around and give them some words. Just like the last time, I just ignored them and carried on with my question.

On my way back to the office, I stopped over at the telephone store to say hello to a friend and as soon as I got in, I saw a young girl looking at my hair, while trying so hard to muffle her laughter. I simply just walked out. 

If I was the Vou in the past, trust me, I would have pulled a Madea on all the folks who’ve had something bad to say about me and the hair that actually grows from my scalp.

I don’t got around like a natural hair nazi preaching that every woman must return natural. Heck, I don’t even go laughing at women who think they aren’t beautiful until they are rocking 100-inch “human hair.”

With all this said, I think from today I’ll make it my business to help certain people understand this “strange” thing that grows on my head and that I’ve decided to display.

I’m putting myself aside. I do not make a lot of money, but from now on, I’ll start saving some money just so I can offer anyone who bad talks my hair a voucher to attend counseling or attend a class on history, specifically on the 1960s Civi Rights movement. 

I mean, there’s absolutely no excuse for anyone, especially anyone of African descent to look at natural hair and frown. It’s one of two things: you don’t love yourself enough or you totally disregard the suffering our fore parents went through in the past. Heck, not even that, it’s either you’re yet to realize the danger of chemical relaxers on hair and the entire body.

I may sound like a natural hair nazi, but at this point, I don’t care. This whole nonsense of not respecting how people choose to express themselves has to stop.

Adieus people 🙂 

7 thoughts on “Mind Your Business.

  1. Hey Girl, I know you are human and sometimes, though we say we don’t care, we keep remembering those negative words.
    I know how you feel, I too sometimes want to get all carnal but thanks be to Jesus for saving me.
    Many time when people act like that, a couple of things can be drawn; one being: they have no identity of their own and so they can hardly accept another person who very well have theirs.

  2. Loool!all I can think of is d novel I’ve jst finished reading..’Americanah’ by Chimamanda Adichie she’s a natural hair lady too…infact yle readin d book I actually tot of u!

    • Awwwww… I read that bok too! One of my fav books ever! It’s such an amazing book. I could relate to most of what she wrote about! I didn’t want the book to end! 😦

  3. reading this post i had the urge to reach in and slap that guy who actually stopped and wound down his window. Honestly some people just have nothing better to Do with their time. Too restless, they don’t feel peace till they’ve told somebody how to live their life. God gave us the hair we have, who gives anyone the right to insult that? i mean, the idea that an artificialized person feels superior to someone who is confident in their natural self is beyond illogical. yuh better go and check yourself!!

Leave a Reply

