Meet Abayomi

Meet Abayomi

Folks,

For the next five days, I’m going to be sharing my cubicle with Abayomi aka Abby.

This smart, fun loving, outgoing and intelligent 15 year-old is interning with The BVI Beacon Newspaper this week. I have the privilege of being- for lack of a better word- her supervisor.

This simply means for the next week, I have to be a responsible adult. Like, I have to show up to the office on time, not spend so much time browsing through the internet, be a model employee, not bully Ken- my colleague and basically appear busy all the time.

All that boring grown up actions aside, Abby gets to go to assignments with me and the other reporters. For example, in a few hours, she’ll shadow me at an interview and she’ll get to take the photo and video of the interview. I’m pretty excited about it.

You know what’s fun?
I was in Abby’s shoes years ago. I went to the same high school she’s currently enrolled in. (Cedar International School.)

In 11th grade, I interned with a newspaper called The Virgin Islands Standpoint. That publication is now out of business.
In 12th grade, I interned with guess who???? That’s right! I interned with The BVI Beacon Newspaper.
I did an okay job, in my very modest opinion… but If you ask my supervisor then, I think he’ll tell you I did an amazing job. (I mean, how do you explain the fact that I’ve been with the company for years since then… Okay… Vanity kills!)

I digress.

Abby enjoys photography and hopes to one day become a wild life photographer. She’s got some really cool photos. ( Something I don’t think my 15 year-old self would measure up to).

I was out sick for the later part of last week, but I got a memo at home, informing me of my duties and new cubicle mate.

I sort of forgot about her until I walked into the office and found her seated, being briefed by the editor.
Needless, to say, she’s somewhat settled down and I think, getting a sense of what it takes to be as journalist.

I really do hope that at the end of the week, Abby would have had a fun time learning about the things we do and how a newspaper operates.

Folks, I have to go. Having Abby here means I can’t be wasting time. I have to be an example!

🙂

Live, love, laugh, fart, be silly; life is too short.
Vou

5 thoughts on “Meet Abayomi

Leave a Reply

