To Myself, With Love.

In your face Santa!

In your face Santa!

Dear Nigerian Husband,
Firstly, I’ll like to apologize for not writing you for so long. In the second week of December, something seemingly bad (well, a blessing in disguise really) happened and I found myself emotionally incapable of writing you any letter. I’m doing better now, so I’m writing you sort of like an update.

By the way, happy new year. I had an uneventful New Year celebration, but hey… it’s 2015 and I’m happy, healthy and grateful to God.

Back to the matter.

After whatever occurred in the beginning of December happened, I thought Christmas was going to be a sad one like Christmas had been for the past four years. I just couldn’t imagine that happening, so I took things into my own hands,

And to heck with Santa Claus, I was not about to leave my Christmas excitement up to him. I live in the Caribbean, there’s no snow and as such he can’t possibly make his way down here.

For Christmas to be different, I needed to do things I had never done at Christmas time before. My apartment needed a face-lift, I’ve never had a Christmas tree in my apartment, I’ve never hosted Christmas lunch at my home and such.
Christmas had to be fun this year. For a change, I decided to get me a Christmas present first, then other things would follow.  It so happened I had to cover a street fair on VIrgin Gorda. that weekend. While taking pictures, I saw an item I thought would make a great present to myself. I knew you- my Nigerian Husband- weren’t going to be sending me any Christmas presents, so I had to do it myself.
I bought that item and wrapped it up a few days before Christmas and placed it under the tree I had already bought and decorated.

Before Christmas, I had invited a few friends to come over for lunch at my house. On the menu, i had baked ham, baked turkey, chin chin, salad, Jollof rice, corn and plantains. There was a lot for folks to drink. I ended up Christmas day with so much love and a few other presents under the tree for me.
All these preparations and celebrations aside, I was particularly glad for the reason of the season- the birth of Christ. I think Christmas should be a time to share and show love, so I decided to make my apartment a home and also share love with friends.

But that aside though, this Christmas for me, was a way of marking new beginnings, the start of happier times and the beginning of me loving myself more.

Dear Nigerian Husband, you can stay wherever you are if you want. You can also show up if you want to, but till then, I’ll continue doing things that make me happy. I’ve come to realize that if I can’t make myself happy, there’s nothing you can do to make me happy.

I still have my Christmas present under the tree. I’m still anxious to see what I bought myself for Christmas. lol

Live, love, laugh, fart out loud and be silly, life is too short.

Vou

7 thoughts on “To Myself, With Love.

  1. Indeed no one can make you happy except you.
    Glad you had a great time at Christmas.
    Lol @ you can stay wherever you are…hahahaha

    Happy new year you.
    Best wishes !!!

  2. Happy new to u dearie.. I sent ur Christmas present but DHL returned it yesterday stating the address was wrong, but don’t b bothered, I will still keep it for you till we meet. :D. And yeah I can still make u happier so don’t have that thought this new year.
    So Cheers to a new year and a proper beginning to greater shared love than self love. Muuuah :*

Leave a Reply

