Keep Calm and Eat Nigerian Meat Pies.

DSC_0704

Dear Nigerian Husband,
I trust all is well with you.

It’s 2015, and I plan on spending more time in the kitchen perfecting all the treats I hope you will some day enjoy.
I’ve always loved cooking but in the past year, I don’t think I cooked as much I would have liked. Usually, I cook when I’m in a good mood, it goes without saying that last year may not have been a great one in that regard.

Since the second week of December though, I’ve been cooking a lot more. I even made baked turkey for the first time. (There really is hope for the undomesticated young women out there after all. lol)

In my quest to try more meals and snacks, I made Nigerian meat pie for the first time a few weeks ago.

Last year (2013) by this time, I couldn’t even make chin chin, but look at me now, I’m making meat pies…

Dear Nigerian Husband, i reserved a couple of the lovely pies for you but you didn’t show up, so I gave all of them away. Don’t worry though, I made some more today. You can still have some. (Who am I kidding, you have a reputation of not showing up, so I’ll just give these away too.)

In case you’re trying to make some yourself, here’s a guide to make it. Keep in mind i’ve never really written a recipe for anyone to follow. Just use your common sense.

Here are the ingredients you’ll need –

Flour, butter, egg, baking powder, minced meat, onions, garlic, chopped carrots and peas, stock cubes ( As a Nigerian it’s a no-brainer that your choice will be Maggi or Knorr Cubes), Some curry and dried thyme leaves and potatoes.

First off, dice the potatoes, heat some oil in a pan or pot or whatever you feel like using really. Add some chopped onions and garlic if you like, fry slightly, then add your minced meat and then add your curry, thyme leaves and stock cubes. I don’t think I should tell you how long you should let the meat cook. You should know when the meat it ready. FInally add the potatoes, carrots and peas.

Let that cool for a bit.

Time to make your dough.

I just eye ball the ingredients for the dough. I’m pro enough to give you measurements and all that.

Pour you flour in a bowl, add baking powder and mix. Add your butter, and mix it in until the flour looks like bread crumbs then add one to two whisked eggs. Again mix until everything blends together, then add some water and knead until the dough becomes somewhat elastic.

(To be honest, writing down this recipe is exhausting. I think I’ll just stick to showing you pictures of what I make and when you finally show up, I’ll make them for you.)

It’s common sense that after your dough is ready, you roll some, cut out some circles, roll again with a rolling pin of course, then finally add some of that nice minced meat, close it in and then bake for as long as you want to.

I feel so out of my skin with this recipe. I’m done…lol wheeeew, I’d rather just cook and show off the pictures than cook and share the recipe

Bye.

9 thoughts on “Keep Calm and Eat Nigerian Meat Pies.

  1. Pingback: TCN Blog Digest I | The Crazy Nigerian

  2. Pingback: Nigerian Puff Puff for the Nigerian Husband. | Vou Vents

Leave a Reply

