He Got Her Breakfast. 

So the receptionist at the office is a lovely looking 19-year old. She’s got an outgoing personality and is very fashionable.

I like to play big sister by listening to her and giving her some tough advice when it comes to boyfriends (if I were her, I won’t listen to me! Lol -I can barely keep a relationship and the Nigerian Husband has refused to show up! Poor child!)

So a few weeks ago, she broke up with her boyfriend. After listening to the whole break up ordeal, being the big sister I am, I condemned the guy for everything he did- it’s not that he’s cute and a really smart guy anyway! She deserves better! We cussed him out, called him names and all the things to make you feel good after a breakup!

With all that out the way, I tried to help her understand that there are certain things worth the wait and things that only get better with age ( do I really have to name those things?)

Now we’re on a mission to make sure she doesn’t repeat the same mistake when it comes to boys!

So this morning, I was at the reception with her when a guy walked in. She was dealing with a client so he left. Apparently he came specially for her. I noticed he had a paperbag in his hand. He brought her breakfast.

I asked about him and she said he likes her but she’s not into him and he’s not her type of guy.

Her type of guy she says, must have long hair and be light skinned.

For a minute, I thought she was being shallow, but then I stopped right there.  She’s 19, she shouldn’t be too serious when it comes to dating. Guys she should be dating right now are still growing themselves. They may not be able to afford taking her out to fancy dinners, they may not be the best when It comes to treating ladies right.

But oh to be young again! How I wish I had the luxury of being superficial when it comes to choices regarding men at this age.

I’m hoping I can convince her to sort of think about attributes than than physical features. This guy brought her breakfast, let’s see if he’s consistent. He just might be a good boy. I’ve seen him around and he looks like a decent kid.

We’ll see how this goes!

I’m blogging in my editorial meeting! Need to go before editor calls me out for being on my phone.

5 thoughts on “He Got Her Breakfast. 

  1. Haha. If only we could be so choosey! But again, I wouldn’t trade 19 yo boys for my 30-something men, never ever. 😂funny the things you notice about being a ‘young’ girl when you are just not so much older.

  2. It’s nice that you helped her out. Unfortunately there are some older people who take dating quite superficially, but you are completely right that it is impossible to be quite so serious at 19. Your writing was very clear and I enjoyed this anecdote.

Leave a Reply

