Mediocre Salons.

Dear hairstylist,

I’m sure you’re at your home now laughing hysterically at what went on this afternoon. Trust me, I couldn’t believe myself either.
If what happened this afternoon had happened to Vou of a year or more ago, one of us would have been in jail by now. Vou of many months ago was quick to talk and wouldn’t have had any problem telling you to go to hell with your service.

Lady, you see, island-wide, people talk highly about your skills. I mean, I too can testify – you did my last Havana twists and i got a lot of compliments. For that reason, I know you must have a full appointment book at all times.

With that in mind, though I thought it was late/ too short notice, before 7 a.m. today, I decided to ask if you had any free lot available to wash and two-strand twist my hair. You went straight to the point and told me I could have my hair done if I arrived at your salon by noon.

I was slack with my gym attendance this week and had to make it this morning. I packed my bag, and everything I’ll need. After a very nice and intense workout filled with cardio, I had a shower at the gym and headed for your place in time for 12 noon.

Before then though, I rushed and made sure I had my lunch. (The universe was definitely in your favor this afternoon because I had lunch and wasn’t hungry. Trust me, If I was hungry, what happened this afternoon wouldn’t have gone down well in history.)

I got to your salon at about five minutes past 12 and there you were weaving a lady’s hair.
That immediately took me back to four months ago when I first visited your salon. I had called you shortly before I arrived and you told me I could come in 15 minutes. I did just that only for me to arrive and have to wait for nearly 30 minutes because you were completing pedicure on another client.

It seems that’s a trend for you. You have people make appointments and then you go ahead and laugh at them for believing you actually have regard for their time. What fools we are.

Anyways, after I arrived this afternoon, you didn’t even have the courtesy to apologize and give me a time estimate as to when you’d have attended to me.

Foolish me with no knowledge of how long it takes to sew in weaves thought you’d have been done in at least half an hour. But no darling, you did warn me.
After about 40 minutes, i still didn’t leave.
I noticed right next to your station was a couch. I asked if I could lay on it while you finished up.
At that point, I expected you’d turn in your equipment and quit your job. That should have been the turning point, a moment that should have revealed to you that you’ve failed at this service driven profession.

Dear hairstylist, at that point, I thought you’d offer me a drink and apologize sincerely for having me show up and having to wait. Now, you didn’t I went ahead to lay there for almost another hour. When i got up, you had the guts to ask me “did you enjoy your nap?”

Am not sure which cosmetology school you went, but your teachers must be pretty embarrassed to hear of my encounter with you today.

I waited for almost another hour before you finally finished the weave.

Eventually, at about 2:15, you washed my hair.

but…

You left my hair wet under a towel and proceeded to undo the weave on another client’s hair and then washed it.

At about 3 p.m. you sat down to have your burger and finally, you came back to me and casually said “thanks for your patience Vou.”

You said it so careless without an apology as though I had been sitting there for only five minutes.

Girl, you’re very skillful at what you do, and you somewhat treat my natural hair with care but your service sucks. You’re a nice person too but sweetheart, I’m not sure I can subject myself to such horrible service ever again.

I never knew it was possible to sit in a salon for nearly four hours for a simple service as wash and twist.

Actually, I apologize for venting and being rude, I should really blame myself for sitting through all the nonsense and not saying a word. in my defense, (even though there should be no excuse at all) I was in shock.

see you never again,

Vou

PS
The first time you did my hair, you were so gentle and was actually the first hairstylist in the BVI to handle my natural hair so well and even oiled my scalp properly with olive oil. That charmed me and made me return, but you didn’t do that today. What happened?

6 thoughts on “Mediocre Salons.

  1. Why don’t you wash your hair yourself? Ever since i went natural less than a year ago, I have done everything down to crochet braids myself.. I don’t remember the last time I went to the salon. 🙂

      • Oh i understand.. Sometimes i go an extra week with dirty hair because am lazy to wash but going to the salon for me is never an alternative anymore. Salons spoilt my hair before i finally decided to go natural

  2. Ugh! This sounds like a set up. She did a great job at first to keep you coming back and now she is completely comfortable and totally careless about service and your time. I hope you find a stylist who values your time.

Leave a Reply

