When it rains, it pours.

This photo mostly has nothing to do with this post, but we all know photos make our posts look interesting. Okay, Bye.

This photo mostly has nothing to do with this post, but we all know photos make our posts look interesting. Okay, Bye.

Dear Nigerian Husband,

I’ve always read/heard this saying for so long and I never really cared much about what it means until this week.

I hope writing you this letter to you doesn’t jinx things for me, but I just had to tell you about my week.

Monday, June 8, was the general elections here in the Virgin Islands. I love the excitement around these elections, but not so much the long night I and other reporters have to endure while the ballots are counted.
So, on Monday, before I left home, I prepped mentally for the long 24+ hours ahead of me.

While having breakfast, I had a conversation with my flat mate (or should I say former roommate) and his girlfriend. Everything was okay, the atmosphere was mostly jolly and upbeat as usual.

I made my way up to a polling station a few minutes away from my apartment, conducted a few interviews with voters and was about to head to another polling station when I got a call saying an incident occurred in my apartment.
Because the incident is still before the courts, I can’t really spell out all the details, but all I can tell you for now is, there was blood sprayed/splashed/smeared all over the door of my apartment, and someone got some serious injuries to the head.

A day I thought I was going to dedicate solely to election run-around turned out to be one of going between the emergency room and the police station.
Even with all that, I had to make it back to work and continue with elections stuff. Thankfully, while I continued with work, my landlord’s son hired professional cleaners to take care of the crime scene- sorry, I meant my apartment. (Of course, before it was cleaned, the police collected evidence- photos, handprints- first.)

My dear Nigerian Husband, I didn’t get home until Tuesday at about 5 p.m. Like Monday, my Tuesday was mainly shared between the police station, the hospital and the office. When I did get home, I had to concentrate on my flat mate’s girlfriend, who had some parts of her body either in a cast or bandage- the next day was consumed with work and trying to get a protection order for the victim from the court.

To say I was exhausted would be putting it mildly, but I still had to keep going- there was work to deal with.

I was scheduled to be on personal business to St. Kitts and Nevis and that required me to get some information ready. Because of the incident, I didn’t have enough time to even book my ticket or get those things ready. Eventually, on Wednesday, a few hours before I was due to travel, i hurriedly booked a flight and got other documents ready, somewhat.

My flight was scheduled to leave at 7 a.m., so that meant I was awake at 5 a.m. I went to check in and there was a long line. Eventually, when I got to the front of the line, I just got a haunch to look at my ticket. Pulled up the email with the confirmation and that was when I saw the error; I had booked a flight for Sunday instead of Thursday. Unfortunately, the airline agents couldn’t help me, so I simply sucked it up and left.

My dear Nigerian Husband, I made it back to town and made it to my Thursday 10 a.m. editorial meeting in time.

Indeed, when it rains, it pours.

I was assigned to cover a college graduation.
I often use my phone to record interviews/speeches. That graduation was no different.
To add to the string of unfortunate events this week, a few speeches down, the iPhone 4 packed up on me.

I ended up begging other reporters to email me the speeches I missed and got graduates’ numbers to conduct interviews later.

Dear Nigerian Husband, with all that, I guess I can safely now make my request for an iPhone 6. Can you imagine, I went to the store to see if they can fix the old iPhone 4 I have and they said it would cost me $175. Haba? I guess if I had told them of all the things that happened to me this week, they’d have even offered to fix the phone for free or even give me the iPhone 6 at extremely discounted price. (That’s what corporate civic responsibility is all about right?). There’s no way on I’m taking out $800 out of my account to pay for a phone. That’s almost like paying for all the things that happened to me this week. No, I refuse to let bad luck rob me of a good week and also some money. This has nothing to do with me being cheap, i promise.

My Dear Nigerian Husband, after going through this week, I’m convinced I can handle almost anything life tosses my way.

Yours in marriage, eventually,
Vou

12 thoughts on “When it rains, it pours.

  1. Hehehehehehhehehehhehehheheee>
    Dear Nigerian wife in diaspora, I hope you know that Tecno and Infinix can record and take pictures as well and that they can become your best friends at the same cost of fixing your irresponsible iPhone4. By the way, whose fault is it that you booked your flight wrong?
    Biko go and buy a new phone joorr.

  2. Sounds like you need a hug after the week you’ve had… So here’s one big one with your name on it! 🙇
    Hang in there…!! And to those involved in the first incident, I pray healing finds them.

  3. Wow. I can only say wow. This was a very I interesting read. I’m sorry you had such a hectic (if not horrible) week. You detailed account of it all, however, made it very compelling.

  4. What a week! You deserve the iphone 6 already. You’re in the virgin islands? I just turned green, visiting the Carribean islands has been on my mind for years!

Leave a Reply

