Eating Out 101.

Thank my colleague for that headline. If my blog paid, I’d be giving him some royalty for each hit this post generates.

I’ve had one too many posts about terrible service I’ve received at several restaurants and businesses.IMG_8002 (1)

Needless to say, if there’s one thing that grinds my gear,it’s got to be mediocre service.
In the last year, I think I’ve boycotted several eateries around my office. It’s getting so bad, that I’ve resorted to ensuring I cook my own meals at home; that way, no one pisses me off, especially when I’m paying.

This afternoon, all the editorial staff took my colleague for lunch. She’s got less than 36 hours left working with us. (I sure will miss my chicken sandwich.

We went to a sushi restaurant. The food was good as usual, i’m now stuffed, but the terrible wasn’t the best. Perhaps it had to do with the fact that I was super hungry or maybe just the fact that they need to get their act together.

I recall a few months ago, we all went there as a group and the service was good, the timing in which our meals came was great, it couldn’t have come any sooner.
I went there with the same expectation and how wrong was I.

(I’m just gonna nag and rant from now on.)

Firstly, we got there about 15 minutes before they opened. To their credit, they opened and let us in about 5 minutes early or so.

Miso soup arrived somewhat on time for those of us whose orders came with it.
But then, we all had to wait for at nearly 25 minutes more before the first two orders came in. Others waited at least five minutes more.

At some point, I thought I was the only one who was being impatient but it didn’t take long to notice that others too were not pleased with the delay. An average person gets an hour for lunch. At the pace they moved, it wasn’t possible to have lunch in just an hour.

But hey, It’s Vou, I nag and complain, that’s what I do. I visit establishments and I expect them to be on top of their game when it comes to serving me. I’m paying for goodness sake.

Now, here’s the part I was supposed to insert right at the very top; Eating Out 101.
Just joking, I’m just going to teach you how to recognize and thereafter boycott businesses who waste your time and have no regard for your money.

1 – If you visit visit a restaurant and your presence is not recognized or appreciated in the first five minutes (and that’s being very generous) you’re most likely in a restaurant that doesn’t value it’s customers. You may decided to give them the benefit of the doubt, but i assure you, most of the time, they end up proving you wrong.

2 – …….

3 – …….

Forget it, I have no more details and advise to offer, simply walk out if you’re not pleases, expect of course, the next place to eat will take you at least five minutes to get to and taking one step is sure to kill you instantly. Even better, save yourself the sorrow and humiliation, wake up a tad bit early, make your own lunch and bring it with you to the office.
Bye. (I need to take a nap, the sushi and bento box were good after all.

IMG_8003 (1)

 

2 thoughts on “Eating Out 101.

  1. I hate it when i see one who suppose to serve me waste my time. Especially, when am thirsty or hungry. I just want to eat straight away when seated. But it does not happen !!!

Leave a Reply

