Letter to My Unborn Son.

Son,
You’re not born yet. It’s June 27, 2017, but I have some promises I must deliver to you even before your conception.

Dear-son

I owe you a lot of things. See, in this present time we live in, there are many men and women who don’t know their true value and as a result try to pass on that lack of self-worth to others. I’m trying my best to ensure you grow up knowing your worth and knowing how to nicely and wisely interact with everyone you come across.

This not only starts with how I prepare myself for your coming, but with the decision on who becomes your father.
I wrote your sister a few months ago, informing her of the things I owe her. You’re no different. I owe you a father who is a man all around and not a man just because he has a penis.  A man who knows the importance of living up to his words, a man with integrity.

Son, I owe you a father who will treat me like a queen, providing you with the imperfectly perfect manual on how to treat your sister and eventually your own wife.

See son, I owe you a father who is grounded, if not immovable in his faith in God. A father who understands that God is the source of his being, the source and the reason he owns everything he does. You deserve a father who not only spends time before God, but a man who sees it as his first priority to set Godly examples for all of us.

You deserve a father who respects me as purposely different yet sees me as an equally valuable partner, not one who sees me as something to be acquired, used and eventually replaced.

Son, the idea of manhood these days is being watered down beyond comprehension. You deserve a father who respects everyone he comes in contact with, a man who leaves lasting impressions on people he comes in contact with, a man who will easily win over your grandfather – my father. Your father has to be one with a great sense of humor, hardworking, cheerful, thoughtful, playful and stern when the need arises. A man who cooks and pampers me is vital.

Son, I’m doing my best in ensuring you get all these and more in a father. By the grace of God, I think I’m doing a great job so far.
P.S – He’s a fart champion.

Your mom,

8 thoughts on “Letter to My Unborn Son.

  1. Beautiful. Just beautiful. You left out “A father who tries to reads all your mom’s passionate poems”. I busted out laughing at “Fart Champion”! That too is essential. 😀

Leave a Reply

