“If You’re Disappointed…”

photo-4Dear Nigerian Husband,

It’s been a while I wrote to you.

I’ll make this short. Just like you, I’m working hard to make sure we both live comfortable lives. (I have stories waiting to be written and production day is tomorrow.)
I’m a bit disappointed with you. You’re lurking around for too long and you’re refusing to show your face.

For the past three or more months, I’ve had several men- whose calibre can’t be compared to yours at all- ask me if I’m married, if I have a boyfriend and if I have kids. I’ve been respectful just as you’ d want me to be. I’ve not told anyone of them off yet.

Listen, I’m not rushing you at all. Rushing you means I’ll be rushing myself as well. And we both know you’ll arrive when we are both ready to handle each other.

This morning though, I almost gave one a not-so nice reply. He saw me walking to the office peacefully and nodding my head to some reggae music and asked “so you aint’ married yet?”

Honestly, I wasn’t in the mood to answer such a question, so I lied… (shame) and said I was married.

His response- “Well, that’s good but if and when you get disappointed, I will be right here waiting on you.”

Dear Nigerian Husband, just as I’m working on making myself agood house wife, I hope, no scratch that! I know you’re working super hard on being the man of my dreams. These men have no regard for you.
Even before your arrival, they are already plotting to take your place!

You have to do something about men like these. You can’t have them disrespecting your future Nigerian Wife.

I’m done!

Yours in marriage (eventually)

Vou

21 thoughts on ““If You’re Disappointed…”

  1. You’re just crazy Vou. So you have even married him in advance. Issokay, I hope you know that ‘These Guys Aint Loyal’. I’m available sha, and I’m Nigerian, abi?

  2. Pingback: “If You’re Disappointed…” | Jshimmer's Blog

  3. Pingback: Could I Be A Lesbian??? | Vou Vents

  4. Pingback: We Need to Talk. | Vou Vents

  5. “but if and when you get disappointed, I will be right here waiting on you.” – the effrontery, some guys just don’t even know how to talk.
    Great post.

    • Girl, I’ve heard much worse. Some I can’t even blog about! One told me my vagina would fall puff my body because I was exercising. Someday, some men will learn to be respectful, that day isn’t today.

      • Wait! I’m sorry but what? Loool it’s very funny to ‘comprehend’ some men understanding of ‘how to approach’ women or better still their lack of understanding.
        Funny enough, I had a silly ‘chat up’ experience yesterday that started with ‘excuse me, did you see me drive past you, I like the look of you?’
        Wonders shall never end and like you said some men will learn but that day isn’t today.

Leave a comment